Com’on let’s go…!!

Twelve hours ago, I was scrambling my brains, hunting for the various props required for the play, pouring over the script and one look at the mirror; I looked something like an extra-terrestrial. Paint smeared face, yellow-green fingers….one big mess!!! The team had finished today’s work and I was cleaning up. Reached my quarters and was settling down, when the phone rang. Now what?!!
The next minute I left.

The next few hours were some of those that I treasure and keep it categorized as “memories for later”!! There is something special about spontaneous, unplanned events. Five of us, hit the road for a drive. Post-traffic rush, the drive was awesome. The thing that attracts me about a drive is that, it is a pleasant time to mull over, to reflect, to drift away, to dream or simply sit back and soak in the scenes that roll by, nature’s views, the music…. Or maybe it’s the fact that I am getting out of the local “habitat” and heading out somewhere different. And a drive with no planned destination in mind and going nowhere in particular, is simply the best. The random days of travel and the countless hours of just driving, stopping at random spots, depending on whatever catches the eye, exploring the roads….are like some moments which are worth making. A new road, a new area, new scenery appears…. no second thoughts at all… Although, the best is when it is an overnight trip. Unfortunately it is “work-day” tomorrow.

Anyways, this drive turned out to be a big break from the usual grind. I wish I could do it more often. Sometimes, extremely pre-planned events lose their fun due to the extreme planning. Spontaneity, I really miss it thanks to all the schedules and planners. True, planning is a must; but surprises I like better. Well, back from the road, the whole gang had crashed over; looks like it was a Saturday night after all!!!

About ....the little thread of thoughts

through five yrs of med school, and now taking a 2 yr break before post-grad working in mission hosp in India; 'm one of ur norm' everyday ppl. Nothing dramatic goin' on in my life, but it's not so quiet either. Just "a lot of happenings". So, hi there n Have a great day :) View all posts by ....the little thread of thoughts

3 responses to “Com’on let’s go…!!

Leave a Reply

