Can’t believe…after so many years…

For the past couple of days, I been suffering from what anyone would call as a ” fish-mouth-syndrome”; continuously gaping at the screen of my laptop in shock and wonder !! ( Don’t blame me, you would me doing that if you were in my position, betcha !!) Oh my gosh !!! Time has flown by and oh boy, the changes it has brought. Perplexed ? I am sure by this time, anyone would think that I am completely nuts, but seriously I am not. Read on..

I have been a born traveler, right from the crib. Honestly, the maximum time I have spent in any place is for a period of five years ( just one place so far !!). So my entire childhood, till college was spent in a total of five schools. Consequently, I have lost in touch with most of my friends and high school teachers. These were the times when the e-mail and the internet fever was just catching up. Re-unions are rarely held for the lower grades, and the wanderer that I am, I am sure my invitation would be lying somewhere, lost to the winds of time and distance. Over the past few days, I have gotten back in touch with most of them ( the wonders of a small holiday break !!!) Over Twitter, Facebook, Skype… social networking to the limit !!! Thank goodness for such small “inter-distance” wonders !!! It was great to hear from many of them and to renew the bonds, especially over Christmas-time. Besides the reminder that it’s a small world after all, catching-up with the days of the past has brought back memories of the mischievous school days, the notes swapped in class, school drama days, the camps, the high school dance competitions… And oh yes, my high school crush-list, finally getting to chat with them after a really long time. ( The list never got announced, so far safe and oh yes, they are still guessing !! ha ha ) Feels good, makes me smile during during those strenuous duty hours. ( Working !!! , yep got no choice. I am one of those unlucky few, without a X’mas break, but I got longer breaks now !!! )

This is one bit of technology that I really don’t mind !!! Looks like this might be an extra-busy Christmas-time, with all the new greetings to be e-mailed, new addresses to be added to my address book and of course an r.s.v.p. to all my e-mails !!! And for all the rest of you out there, have loads of fun !!!

 

About ....the little thread of thoughts

through five yrs of med school, and now taking a 2 yr break before post-grad working in mission hosp in India; 'm one of ur norm' everyday ppl. Nothing dramatic goin' on in my life, but it's not so quiet either. Just "a lot of happenings". So, hi there n Have a great day :) View all posts by ....the little thread of thoughts

2 responses to “Can’t believe…after so many years…

  • Ivy Blaise

    Without the internet and social networks like FB etc I would have lost touch with so many friends. It is great when you can re-connect.

    Have a great Christmas! Enjoy the longer breaks. 🙂

    • ....the little thread of thoughts

      I love the photo exchanges the best…having fun catching up. Really getting away with even longer breaks….can’t help it !!! somehw my watch stops working then !!…kitchen disaster one occurred, not that bad..slightly burnt though edible. 🙂 Merry x’ms to you too !!! 🙂 Have a gr8 tym.

Leave a Reply

