Usher in the ding-dong of the bells….

Here comes 2011 ( oops, nineteen hours already into it !!)…who ever thought that one decade of the next millennium would go by so fast !!! Poor Y2K bug…it got real badly squashed. As with every year, my nerves wouldn’t settle down till I made that never-accomplishable-despite-repeated-attempts list of the “dreaded new year” resolutions. So under the spell of the ethanol group of compounds, my persistently flickering neuronal network went into hyper-drive mode!!! The biggest question is how many to make and how long should I take to make it. I‘ll leave that answer for later.

Now let me see, where to start off…ah to lose some weight. Chances of a success….. extremely slim. Possibility, next to impossible. Ah forget that one, next is “ballet”. Got that bug bite this year and oh yes I started off in the confines of my little room with all those help-yourself-to-pirouette tapes. So far, one twisted ankle, a very sore bum, scraped elbows and something that looked like a spin on your toes. Hmmm, shall take it a step further this year with the splits. Accomplishable? Note: Will answer later.

Next, knitting? Only if I manage to wrangle that yarn from my kitten. Forget it, shall review later.

Karate; current status: white belt. Should I try going higher, learning the kicks is great, especially to try out on those evil-prank-playing friends of mine. Oh this is definitely worth it….got to sign up asap.

Reading (strictly novels!!)…..last year’s resolution carried over. Accomplishable? Remote possibility, maybe so. “There shall be miracles when you believe”….and so I shall believe.

Four listed out, so far. I think I’ll leave a lot of space for the accomplishable column. Fifth, regular blogging!! Well, I just started off this year, it’s a possibility but my variables are highly variable. I can’t vouch for the Internet and its’ traffic nor my net connection or the fact that I would be around at one place….this year looks like it could be “a travelling one”. Nope, not one of treks and rock-climbing, but of the “scalpel” and “the blade” with that little black bag in tow. Ah who can predict the future ?!!

I’m scratching my brains out now, they are on the verge of herniation…think I am doomed that my resolutions won’t work out. Oops, didn’t someone say just a minute ago about the miracles…..I think I need a little more time to think. After all, dreamers are the thinkers of society!! (says I) As for resolutions, they are meant to be broken mid-year and remodeled. But I shall complete my list of resolutions, at least I need something useful to focus on. The whole point is to give yourself something to change, to modify and bring some life into the persona of self ( I am not under influence !!!) Meanwhile, it’s time to get ready for that party and usher in the ding-dong of the bells…looks like it may be a pretty interesting year after all ( …..think of miracles). Cheers for the New Year…bring it on !!!

About ....the little thread of thoughts

through five yrs of med school, and now taking a 2 yr break before post-grad working in mission hosp in India; 'm one of ur norm' everyday ppl. Nothing dramatic goin' on in my life, but it's not so quiet either. Just "a lot of happenings". So, hi there n Have a great day :) View all posts by ....the little thread of thoughts

4 responses to “Usher in the ding-dong of the bells….

  • Ivy Blaise

    Sounds like those neuronal connections managed to get a few things together for the New Years resolutions. 🙂 Hope the party was great!

    I haven’t figured mine out yet, if ever. Will let you know in that case.

  • bookmagic1

    Hi. I see the angst surrounding New Year’s resolutions in so many people! I have never been the one to make any, although for the past few years my husband and I would write goals in a notebook-personal, career, family, financial, happiness-whatever. This has worked out really well for us, since we look at them a few times a year.

    I personally feel that we shouldn’t have to wait till the New Year. I think what’s more effective is DECISIONS. It’s when you decide, I mean really decide that you have reached the bottom and the only way is up. It’s when you really have had enough. You don’t have to wait till you reach that point but the frustration level at that state is a powerful trigger. That’s when you get going and make it happen. I’ve heard (and glazed over it) in the past, but I’ve made it happen for myself.

    I looked back at some the past years’ goals in my book, and believe it or not, most of them have some true. I’ve lost weight, lowered my cholesterol, improved my business, found a good school for my daughter, realized things about myself.

    If I can do it, anyone can.

Leave a Reply

