Packers & Breakers ….oops movers…

If there is one activity that I kind of find a trifle annoying is shifting homes – both the pre-  and the post- stages. Consider the facts; the change of locations, the new secluded place of work and of course the spacious new quarters. So this is why at this party hour of the night, I am sitting and grumbling at the scene –  carton boxes piled on with half the contents on the floor ( consider the option manhandling !!), stuff strewn around…whoa, even a toddler couldn’t beat me at this art.

Don’t blame me but I don’t relish the activity of moving. Pretty tedious, getting the right number of cartons, organizing the wardrobes, classification of all items as daily, once a while, once bi-annually, yearly, rarely and of course the i-think-i-may use-it otherwise what my mom would call it “junk” and the regular trash stuff. Ironically after all the pains of packing, I still mutter fervent prayers and with crossed fingers hope the movers know and recognize the word ” fragile”, which I am sure hardly ever happens.

So this year was none the different, nevertheless the outcomes have been so far bearable. Lets see, one broken china set ( but repairable, so my hair is still on my head), one torn apart carton, and one cracked painting.  The latter was supposed to be discarded but…as usual it may come in useful some time.

Considering my work schedule and the fact that all the cargo arrived a week late, I am still glaring at the mess in my quarters. Sigh, getting started is worse than it looks like. I wish there were un-packers for hire out here….alas, if horses could fly ( not the ones which are silvery with pointed horns!!!!)….

About ....the little thread of thoughts

through five yrs of med school, and now taking a 2 yr break before post-grad working in mission hosp in India; 'm one of ur norm' everyday ppl. Nothing dramatic goin' on in my life, but it's not so quiet either. Just "a lot of happenings". So, hi there n Have a great day :) View all posts by ....the little thread of thoughts

2 responses to “Packers & Breakers ….oops movers…

Leave a Reply

