“Psst; could you….”

XYZ: “Psst, you must first promise not to tell it to anyone at all. Give me your word. Cross your heart”

Me: Give me a break and say it.

XYZ: “Alright, this happened yeasterday and blah, blah….”

This was what happened at work, during the mid-morning break .

Imagine my surprise, that by the time it was lunch hour, the whole hospital was buzzing with the “secret”. Nope, there is no need for anyone to growl at me, not a single word even spill out of my mouth. Zip. Nada. Zilch.

Later, in the day I came to know that the “secret” was spilled by none other than the one-to-whom-it-happened. Ironically, this keeper a.k.a. me had nothing to do with. The most interesting part is, what’s the whole point of even calling it a secret. Ironically, what I have dicovered is that most of the time, the real bearer of the secret spills it out and the keepers, who sometimes of no choice of theirs, have been accused of spilling them. The latter is kind of highly annoying. It paints you as a black devil with a red coloured gossip-pitchfork. Believe me, there is nothing worse than being accused of being a gossip-monger when the truth is that you were hardly interested in it, much less to even discuss or share it with anyone later and besides, it was a secret, something forbidden to spill. So when some body points a finger at me, supposedly assuming the fact that I was the “Wiki-leak-er” of the day, I see real bloodshed then. Which leads to an awesome chaos scene.

So lesson of the day, “Psst, could you keep a secret” if ever, uttered at work, by your colleague, senior, junior or even your next-door neighbour ; unless and until your relationship is thicker than blood, it’s way easier to say, “No thanks, I’d rather eat crow !!” The latter tastes way better any day.

About ....the little thread of thoughts

through five yrs of med school, and now taking a 2 yr break before post-grad working in mission hosp in India; 'm one of ur norm' everyday ppl. Nothing dramatic goin' on in my life, but it's not so quiet either. Just "a lot of happenings". So, hi there n Have a great day :) View all posts by ....the little thread of thoughts

Leave a Reply

