“So which one are you, eh ?!”

It’s been almost six months since I started work. That is, six months since I left the city, six months since I left the university and college campus. The flurry of emails I get echo one question at the end of the mail or in between. “So, how is the country mouse doin’? Or are you still the city gal?” To that my best reply so far is, “Well, I’m hybridized!!!”

Every month, I spend at least two weeks practicing in the country and two weeks in the city. So my life is like shuttling between these two places. I love the time spent in the country. It’s quiet, when the ER is not crowded. And best of all is its green out here. Besides, the farms are huge and varied. During childhood, I remember the time spent at my grandparents’ farm. Taking the cows to the field, chasing the hens, searching for the goats that strayed away and romping in the hay. Working in the rural areas brings the memory of those days back.

But, ask me if I’m a pure country mouse? Nay. I love the city too. With the lights, the noise of traffic humming in the background, the night life, the movies, theatres, the side-walks, the café’s , the restaurants and of course, the malls. One thing I do miss badly after shifting out here is hanging out with my friends; like during the college days. Most of the days, by the time we used to wind up the work in the hospital, it used to be around eleven. Yet, there still used to be the drive, meeting at the usual hang-out, late night movies. Guess, those were the days of college. Finishing up med-school, i.e. the last three years of specialization won’t be the same. Our residents’ often say that.

So what am I? A bit of both, I think. I’m not “a pure country- crazy” dweller, but I love the country life. Nor am I die-hard city fan. I like a bit of both the lives. To stay on the fast-track but have a bit of peace at times. To enjoy the night sounds, chirping of crickets and sitting on the porch. And to enjoy the loud music, and the streets at night as well.

So, sometimes I wonder where that leaves me. Shuttling between both the worlds, I must say I hang somewhere in between and so far, I kind of prefer it this way. So which am I ? None of them, but both. Just a hybrid mouse.

About ....the little thread of thoughts

through five yrs of med school, and now taking a 2 yr break before post-grad working in mission hosp in India; 'm one of ur norm' everyday ppl. Nothing dramatic goin' on in my life, but it's not so quiet either. Just "a lot of happenings". So, hi there n Have a great day :) View all posts by ....the little thread of thoughts

2 responses to ““So which one are you, eh ?!”

Leave a Reply

