Walking to unwind….

Well, it’s been a hectic week, with running around the clock at work. In addition, major repairs have been going on at my house, so
here’s the end to a week of strained nerves and frazzled hair !!

Don’t get me wrong. I love my work but what I would like more than anything is a break right now. Yet, time-off won’t be possible till the mid of next week . Weekend starts with my on-call at the missionary hospital in the rural area, so accessibility to internet is off from tomorrow onward. So what’s the next possible way to clear my head before Friday evening sets in here.

A walk.

No there are no woods here. I’m living right now, smack in the middle of a bustling city. But still, a change of scene would help, I guess. Walking is one of the ways I get to unwind. That and going on a drive. Besides, removing myself from the daily hustle-bustle, one of the best things about walking is that you get to see a lot of people going on with their daily lives. And the chance to observe. To shift your center of focus to more mundane things. To just look around. And not to forget the art of window shopping.

Unwinding.

Each one of us need to de-stress in some way or the other. Sometimes, it’s a movie, or a day out with friends, or a novel you have been dying to get your hands, music, various hobbies or shopping. Whatever may it be, time for yourself is as important as breathing. No one can function on a 24 x 7 basis, without taking a seconds’ break. For even the mind needs a change from the usual.

After all, that’s where the difference between humans and technology lies. We don’t do any same act more than once in the same manner. So here’s to my walk. Wonder what lies in store for me.

And have a happy weekend, folks !!

About ....the little thread of thoughts

through five yrs of med school, and now taking a 2 yr break before post-grad working in mission hosp in India; 'm one of ur norm' everyday ppl. Nothing dramatic goin' on in my life, but it's not so quiet either. Just "a lot of happenings". So, hi there n Have a great day :) View all posts by ....the little thread of thoughts

2 responses to “Walking to unwind….

  • Hayley

    “For even the mind needs a change from the usual.”

    I totally get that, 100%.

    Walking and driving are my top ways of unwinding, too, especially with music. I can usually tell how stressed I am by how fast I start to walk and how long I can keep at it. But by the end of it, I always feel so much better.
    That doesn’t mean I drive super fast when I’m stressed, by the way…that I definitely keep under control =P

    Thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply

