My morning look-out…

What’s the first impulse that comes to you in the morning when the alarm sounds?

Of course, the first one would be to hit the snooze button, but post-that; there is a series of activities that happens every morning.

For some to kick-start the day would be yoga, or Pilates, or the morning news buzzing in. For others it would be the newspaper, or listening to music.

For me, one of my kick-starts is the routine of gazing out of my balcony with my morning tea in hand. Watching the streets in the morning, the brisk walkers, the joggers in bright colors, the newspaper guys zooming across, the opening of the shutters of the houses and apartments across the street, the night shift people getting back and the early morning shift workers out to the grind; it all reflects the day slowly opening up.

One of the graces granted to me while coming over to the Eastern half of the World, was the view out of balcony, both my quarters in the hospital and at home. The view from latter overlooks the park, with the streets and lots of open space. The latter often is the home to the morning walkers or the evening joggers, the soccer practices, the impromptu cricket matches, the joyful laughter of children running around.

Some days, when the “snooze button” over powers my will to wake up, the morning starts with record speed and I have to forego the morning ritual. Then evening is the time for gazing out.

            

Few of the interesting things that I have often seen on my evening view out from my hospital quarters in the rural, include strangers
lending a helping hand to new people to town who don’t get their geo-orientation right the first time round, little children running to help their mama’s with the grocery, stranded people tinkering behind the car hoods hoping that the engine would magically sputter to life, random shots of a photographer at work, the duck followed by the little ones in trying to cross the road, before dusk hits out.

At present, it is like a “must event” for me to just spend some time on the balcony looking out. At times, it may be quiet outside too,just the chirping of birds or the silent pitter-patter of the rain; but then is the time to simply stare into the distance and let my random thoughts get moving around.

What makes the very act of looking out from my balcony worth it; is to see life and activity bustling around in full swing. Some days when boredom and loneliness (a part and parcel of the long-distance communications’) strike with full force, then gazing out is almost like a healing act. I feel it’s a gentle reminder of time that life must go on. That life has always got its vigor and charm. It’s okay to feel displaced at times, but we have to recharge and get back into action, ’cause there is a lot left un-done. But then again, that’s my view.

I wonder what your morning kick-start to the day is like.

About ....the little thread of thoughts

through five yrs of med school, and now taking a 2 yr break before post-grad working in mission hosp in India; 'm one of ur norm' everyday ppl. Nothing dramatic goin' on in my life, but it's not so quiet either. Just "a lot of happenings". So, hi there n Have a great day :) View all posts by ....the little thread of thoughts

8 responses to “My morning look-out…

  • The Arbitrary Fairy

    Unfortunately, I don’t have a wonderful balcony to gaze from, but I sure do love my morning cup of tea. That’s my first thought upon waking up. Tea time!

  • wordsfallfrommyeyes

    It’s infinitely interesting, isn’t it, to view other people, life in motion. I like that too. I never use a snooze button. I just get up. Lovel photos.

    • ....the little thread of thoughts

      It feels like a “big theater view” from my balcony. And what’s nice about it, is that it’s “real life” going on there below. It’s great to just get up. I can’t get rid of my instinct to press “snooze” first !! Sigh !! Some things, I guess, won’t change so soon. Thanks for stopping by !!

  • Ivy Blaise

    Morning ritual… after the stumbling out of bed, hitting the shower etc… I try not to stumbled over my cats while I give them food as they are clearly extremely starved and about to die unless they receive it pronto. Then it is just enough time to glance at FB & email before I leg it out to the car to get to work. The real gem is first when I get to work and I go down to the coffee shop and get my double skinny latte and some breakkie. Ahhh bliss 🙂

  • LittleMissVix

    This is a great start to the day, I love people watching so I can imagine I’d get on well with a balcony like yours! I don’t have much time to get ready in the morning so I head straight for the shwoer and then watch morning news TV whilst getting ready, I have to check out the weather 🙂

Leave a Reply

