Listening beyond the words.

Human nature, I think has a lot of stubbornness laced within. Maybe it is that adamant and stubborn of ours, that so very often we try to hide every thing, with or without us realizing it. Let me expand on something that my best friend had once shared with me.

There’s always a little truth behind every “Just Kidding” …. ( It’s true that, humor is always nice to hear..but is there an ounce of truth in what was said ? )

A little knowledge behind every “I don’t Know”…. ( For I think if I say I know, it could shatter someone else’s piece of mind…)

A little emotion behind every “I don’t care”…. ( Because I don’t want to let you know, that I care. For that makes me vulnerable…)

A little uneasiness behind every “I’m OK”….. ( The last thing I want to is to burden you with my problems. I’m an adult. I’ll handle it. At least, I’ll try to; though it hurts…)

A little pain behind every “Forget it”…. ( Forgetting is the best thing for if the crevice deepens any further, it won’t heal ever.)

A little fear behind every “Leave me alone”… ( I need to say it so, because I know I can’t have you in my life every single day and single moment. I need to face it alone. Or at least I need to try to…)

A little hope behind every “Goodbye”… ( And even when I say that, I am hoping that you would call me from behind and stay. Or even that someday, we would meet again.)

Isn’t it so true when they say that, “there’s always a ‘something’ behind every “Nothing”… 

If only we’d understand the speech behind every silence, then maybe someday we’d understand all those around us …!! And that’s when we realize the true value of friends and family; and the true value of life and love….

About ....the little thread of thoughts

through five yrs of med school, and now taking a 2 yr break before post-grad working in mission hosp in India; 'm one of ur norm' everyday ppl. Nothing dramatic goin' on in my life, but it's not so quiet either. Just "a lot of happenings". So, hi there n Have a great day :) View all posts by ....the little thread of thoughts

4 responses to “Listening beyond the words.

Leave a Reply

