What I have learnt by mid-spring….

Nearing the mid-spring days and looking back over the days ( more like weeks) passed, there are a couple of things that I have realized. And after last night’s contemplations, I have decided to pen them down….

No matter what happens or how bad today is, there is always a tomorrow to look forward to. Life just goes on. No matter how hard I try, I can’t slow down the tick-tock of the clock. The needle hands move, the sand falls down and so another try comes along.


Even though they say that  “life” and “living” are essentially the same, I beg to differ. It’s never the same. Somehow, life holds a more potent feel to it. I guess when you add the meaning or substance to living, that’s when I could call it life.

And of second chances, life is full of it. It’s just that they keep on hiding in the nooks and crannies, and that unless you are looking for them with an open mind and try to hope ; they won’t come out of the shadows. But if you hunt them down, you would find them.

And opportunities, when they knock it’s not only about opening the door but ushering it in and making something out of it. Placidity is an admirable trait but staying too placid, such that it equates with “stagnancy” is not life’s way. After every catcher’s mitt has a dual role; to catch at the curve or bend and then throw it back!!

And I have learnt that life always has its fair share of pains and gains. Though at some points, it feels like there is more of the pain than the fun. That’s when I realize that it’s not just me, but most of us. And the beauty of it is how we carry on, in spite of the tears and worries that we are holding within.

As far as making the tough decisions go, I have realized that making my fears and apprehensions a white board helps. And when I close my eyes, believing in hope, faith and an open mind; I am able to make the right call.

One of the most important things that I have learnt over the dawn of spring is that; we are not alone. We are a part of a bigger existence. Everyone has fears but what makes them numb, is the human connections. That’s what keeps the spirit going even through the troubled times.

Each time I reach out and lend a shoulder or a helping hand, a kind word or just a huge hug; it makes me feel happy. Happy that someone’s day has been brightened and unknowingly, my load feels light on seeing their smile. Words may be forgotten or even actions may be forgotten after a while; but the feelings experienced shall always remain. They make the special moments and memories. And they are what should be passed on. Making someone feel special is a gift that even time can’t erase.

 

And the final thought is that , I learnt that I can never stop learning. Till the music ends, new notes have to be grasped and translated into the vibes of life. After all, though life may not be the party that I had hoped for, the least I could do is to dance to the music and bring in the new steps.

And so here ends my train of words. Come Monday morning, it’s time for me to grab my sneakers and be on the run again. Here’s to a wonderful week to all of you.

About ....the little thread of thoughts

through five yrs of med school, and now taking a 2 yr break before post-grad working in mission hosp in India; 'm one of ur norm' everyday ppl. Nothing dramatic goin' on in my life, but it's not so quiet either. Just "a lot of happenings". So, hi there n Have a great day :) View all posts by ....the little thread of thoughts

2 responses to “What I have learnt by mid-spring….

Leave a Reply

